Posted

print

favorite this post All-Inclusive Bedroom for Afternoon Babysitting, 6 yr. old, Late June+ (Capitol Hill, Union Station, Stanton Park) hide this posting unhide

1234567891011121314151617
7th Street NE near Lexington Pl. NE

(google map)

no pay

Are you a pleasant, high-energy 20-something with babysitting experience for elementary school-age kids who will be in DC for 4-7 weeks this summer, or would like to be? Will you be free on weekday afternoons in July, and possibly in late June and/or early August? Would you like to get room and board in the heart of Capitol Hill in a lovely 4-level historic row house on a tight budget in return for 12-15 hours a week of mellow afternoon babysitting for a 6 year-old-girl? The child is bright, active, cheerful and does not have special needs.

The gig includes use of a lovely attic bedroom with private half bath, 3 simple meals a day, all utilities (including Wi Fi), the use of a bicycle and adult kick scooter, and a daily Metro pass.

We're a friendly 50-something longtime Capitol Hill couple looking for a fun, ultra-responsible, outdoorsy, part-time babysitter to fill a gap between foreign au pairs while big sister is away at camp. Our lovely historic row house is just a 10-minute walk from Union Station (Red Line Metro, Amtrak, buses to NYC), near Stanton Park, and a 15-minute walk from Eastern Market (Orange/Blue/Silver Lines). The very nicely set up bedroom includes all utilities, household supplies, and 3 basic meals a day.

The time frame for the gig is flexible, anytime from June 23rd through mid August, 4-7 weeks. Just let us know when you'd be free. We would be glad to provide a work reference to a babysitter who stays a minimum of 4 weeks and does a good job.

The arrangement could work well for a frugal recent college grad, student without afternoon classes, an international backpacker, part-time summer worker or intern, etc. The house is on a pretty tree-lined street in a safe and established neighborhood a 10-minute walk from Union Station, a 15-minute walk from Eastern Market, and a 20-minute walk from the Capitol Building.

We'd like the babysitter to take the kid places in the afternoons to have fun, e.g. Smithsonian museums, a hotel pool we belong to, local libraries and playgrounds. We'd also like them to play board games, bake, do art projects and make puzzles with a kid who enjoys those activities. This would be a fun, laid back gig for a frugal newcomer to town who likes working with kids and wants to get to know Cap Hill and the National Mall. The babysitter must be traveling light, arriving with no more than a couple of suitcases.

WHAT WE PROVIDE:
*Use of a 200 SQF, fully furnished, comfortable, peaceful 4th floor bedroom. The quiet, sunny room comes with linens, towels, Internet, and Air TV. It has a great closet, desk, double bed, and plenty of storage.
*Full board, basic breakfast and lunch (you prepare) and dinner (you can have what we've prepared, if you're not a vegetarian, or make your own) daily, plus use of our well-stocked kitchen to prepare simple meals.
*Household supplies for laundry, cleaning and kitchen. Use of the family washer/dryer.
*Use of a basic bike (with u-lock and helmet) and adult kick scooter to tool around the neighborhood.
*Use of a sunny deck on the same level as the bedroom, great for hanging out in good weather.

Hours that aren't worked on weekdays will be scheduled on Sat afternoons or evenings. Sorry, not a gig for somebody with a full-time summer job during business hours.

QUALIFICATIONS:
*Ultra-responsible 20-something who can furnish babysitting references. Somebody who genuinely enjoys working with elementary school-age kids. American or foreigner.
*Healthy and active.
*Drivers license preferred but not essential.
*Swimmer, but doesn't have to be a good swimmer.
*Low drama person and situation. Good spoken English. Non smoker.
*Personable, mature, honest, good communicator, fairly organized.
*Not a heavy drinker, no history of substance abuse or mental illness, no criminal record.

Please send an email to "Ellie" via Craigslist with "Parents Helper" in the subject line to express an interest. Please include your contacts and basic information about relevant personal qualities, your age, childcare experience, and DC work, travel, or study plans this summer. Please state that you will be free to babysit weekday afternoons in July, and perhaps in late June or early Aug.

We will respond to all serious inquiries with the requested subject header providing this info. If you sound like you might work out for us, we'll arrange to talk and tour the room via Skype or Facetime.

Have a great summer!
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6896040101

posted:

best of [?]