Posted

print

favorite this post $950 Room in Columbia Heights Group House (Columbia Heights) hide this posting unhide

12345678

townhouse
w/d in unit
no smoking
street parking
no private bath
private room

The bedroom: approximately 10 x 12 feet, plus a closet (and chalkboard wall!). Located on the second story. Nothing larger than a full bed will fit up the stairs. You would share a bathroom with two other roommates.

Rent: $950/month with utilities currently included (electric, water, internet, cable & HBO)

The house:
First floor - living room, dining area, and galley kitchen on the first floor.
Second floor - 3 bedrooms and a bathroom
Basement - bedroom, bathroom and a washer and dryer
Outdoor deck out back with a couch, table, and chairs.
Front yard - we have a garden, which all the roommates take care of and contribute to financially. We are currently growing tomatoes, beets, peppers, basil, broccoli, oregano, and kale.

The house is about a 12-minute walk from Columbia Heights Metro Station. There are several bus stops within a block. Street parking is available.

The 3 roommates:
S: queer, cis, white woman in her mid-twenties, spends most of her free time doing anti-racist grassroots organizing and attending Spanish and Korean language exchanges; democratic socialist; vegetarian; enjoys cooking and baking; regular attendee of the Columbia Heights Farmers Market.

S: 31, male, enjoys cooking, reading, and playing soccer and guitar (are you a musician??). Recently started working for the government.

M: 26, male, enjoys reading, baking, running, hiking, and meditating. Works in international development and interested in foreign affairs. Currently learning French and will be moving abroad in the Fall.

House guidelines:

-We have quiet hours Sunday to Thursday from 10 pm - 8 am and Friday to Saturday from 11 pm - 9 am.
-We all have weekly chores that rotate among everyone. The upstairs bathroom is also cleaned on a weekly basis, rotating among the 3 people upstairs (which would include you).
-We split the cost and share some basic household items, including toilet paper, paper towels, dish detergent, etc.
-This is a weapons free household

You would be a good fit if:
You enjoy group living
You are politically progressive
You want to participate in the shared garden
You don’t have furniture/large possessions besides anything for your bedroom
You are very clean
You identify as a woman, trans person of any gender, or non-binary
You’re 25-35 years old
You would be interested in splitting a CSA/farm share (not required - 2 of the 3 roommates currently split a weekly CSA)

You would not be a good fit if:
You have furniture or a lot of possessions that you want to have in a common space
You want to host house parties

Interested in learning more? Please email us and let us know:
That you read the ad in its entirety
What you do for a living
A bit about yourself and how you spend your time
What your experiences are with group living
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6939104558

posted:

updated:

best of [?]