try the craigslist app » Android iOS
favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

Join Our Group House! Room Available $920 (U St.)

1234567891011
Thanks for viewing! We are a mixed-gender, queer-friendly house of 4 professionals in our 20s living in a beautiful 5-bedroom, 2.5 bathroom group house between U Street and Columbia Heights. In these strange times, our roommate has decided to move home to CA and we have a room open on our third floor and are looking for someone (preferably who identifies as a woman/femme/NB) to join us. The room at the moment is $920 but the rent is increasing at the end of the year (the exact amount is not confirmed, but should be no more than $100 more). Ideally, we’d like to have someone sign the lease for October 1st but can be flexible if you want to move in before or after that. The medium-sized room is big enough for a queen-size bed, desk, dresser, and shares the third-floor bathroom with one other housemate. This room also has easy rooftop access.

We have a wonderfully understanding landlord, who lives in the unit below the house. He has offered lease flexibility during quarantine, but at the moment we are looking for roommates who intend to stay for at least 6 months - a year. If you seem like a good fit, we’ll work on quarantine logistics for the move — we want to make sure everyone is comfortable and stays healthy!

The house has a washer/dryer, window unit A/C, and heating. We pay gas and electricity (our landlord covers water and internet/cable), which usually comes to ~$35-40/month, a bit more in winter. We typically pay for a cleaner for the common areas every month ($25 each), monthly compost ($5 each), and share general expenses like TP, paper towels, garbage bags, etc.

Pre-covid, we did a ton of activities outside the house (community gardening, exploring DC’s restaurant scene, going out to bars, etc.). These days we’re playing tennis, watching lots of basketball, dancing salsa and bachata in our yard, cooking meals with each other, and hanging out with our neighbors on our respective porches. While we have our own busy lives, we’re looking for housemates who would like to be friends (or at least porch-drinking buddies) and participate in making the house feel like a community.

If you are interested, please complete this form (don't email).

https://forms.gle/FD5SAL3peDopDXzN8

We'll get in touch if you sound like a good fit and will be setting up interviews soon. Credit check and proof of income will be required by our landlord ($20 website fee), along with a security deposit of $880.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 7197180427

posted:

best of [?]