try the craigslist app » Android iOS
favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

UMD soon-to-be post-doc/young professional looking for a basement apt (College Park)

Hi, I’m an easygoing and open-minded 28-year old single male PhD student at University of Maryland College Park who will defend my PhD in early June and become a post-doc staff scientist at UMD right after. I’m looking for a studio/one-bedroom one-bathroom basement apartment to rent when my current lease ends.

I'm originally from China but have been in the States for six years and have been living with American roommates from the beginning. There will be no language barrier or cultural collision issues. I'm a non-smoker, don't have pets, don’t use any drugs, for social and have guests occasionally but would never host any parties at home or bother other tenants/the landlord. I'm quiet at home (use headphones and keep volume low) and respectful to others' privacy. I'm always clean and tidy with my room and other area I use. Every time after I cooked (which I do three times every week), I would clean up the kitchen immediately.

I currently live in Greenbelt, MD and study/work in College Park and I hope to stay closer to College Park area. However, if the place is ideal, I’m open to move to farther away area, up to Gaithersburg/Germantown to the west/northwest, Bowie area to east and Columbia/Ellicott City area to the north. I would only consider rentals in Maryland.

I’m hoping to find a place in a safe and family-friendly neighborhood, which is the most important factor when I consider. Besides, I’m hoping to find a place with the following amenities and features,
• Furnished. Must have a bed, basic bedroom, living room and kitchen furniture strongly appreciated (I only have several small pieces of furniture and I don’t plan to buy a bed)
• A full kitchen with stove and oven is strongly preferred
• Privacy (renting the entire basement with private entrance is strongly preferred)
• Reasonably quiet past 10/11 pm.

My current lease ends by 05/31 and I would like to move in about a week in advance so I can use a few days to move all my stuff. I would accept a rate up to $1000/month including utilities, but it’s negotiable up to $1100/month if the location and amenities are ideal. Please kindly reply if you have such an apartment to rent by the desired moving in date 05/24. I’m currently in no rush but I would like to have it settled to focus on my defense and I would like to schedule a visit in person at your convenience soon. Interviews and credit/background checks are welcomed. I understand it's a mutual choice between the landlord and the tenant. My phone number and more information are available upon inquiry. Thank you.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 7071106875

posted:

updated:

best of [?]