try the craigslist app » Android iOS
favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

Home Caregiver Needed - three-hr shifts, weekdays or weekends (DelRay/Potomac Yard)

123
Richmond Hwy near Potomac Yard Center

(google map)

compensation: $15/per hour
employment type: part-time

Paralyzed gentleman, age 61 and 140 lbs., with severe quadriplegic Cerebral Palsy, needs an in-home caregiver twice everyday – one each morning and one each evening. We just lost our morning aide will need to replace our afternoon aide during August and are seeking a Weekend Caregiver to work Saturday mornings, Saturday evenings, Sunday mornings, and Sunday evenings, at the same hours as weekday shifts (usually 24 hours per pay period). Start and end times are somewhat flexible, once a two-week-long training is completed.

We pay each of our caregivers $14/hr. to start, with an increase to $15/hr. after two-week training and evaluation period. At the end of each two-week pay period, you'll get a pay check from us on the last day of the pay period. And you'll also get a state agency direct deposit pay amount about one week later - the two payment sources together total $14/hr. or $15/hr. minus normal employment deductions.

A typical 3-hour shift includes recording vital signs, bathing and dressing him, other hygiene tasks (brushing teeth, shaving, applying incontinence equipment), and transferring him to his power wheelchair (in evening, transferring him to bed and recharging chair and setting up overnight tube feeding at night), and crush and administer medications pre-selected per dose and supervised by wife. Also, tidy bedroom and assist with laundry as needed. The shift can be done in as little as 90 minutes, depending on your time-management skills.


When COVID restrictions are lifted, we like to attend our church in DC and must travel by public transportation, so the Sunday morning shift must start by about 7:00 or 7:30 am.

Personal requirements: We hope to find someone who is professional (this is not about certifications - more about moral fiber.) Cheerful attitude. Someone who is responsible regarding arrivals and departures, etc., kind (but it’s so easy to be kind with my husband). Professionalism also means that if you are sick or significantly delayed by traffic you will CALL me. "Texting out" is an absolute 'no-no'. If you do not come for your shift, wife must do it, and wife is 73 years old and somewhat mobility challenged. (And wife has been without weekend shift for nearly the entire COVID period so far.)

Please read the ad carefully. Notice where we live (map in posting) and ensure that you can get to us (car or public transport). Yes, this job means you must come to us TWICE on Saturdays and TWICE on Sundays. We are located in Virginia in the Route 1 'corridor' between Crystal City and Old Town Alexandria. We are directly across Route 1 from the Potomac Yard Shopping Center.

To Apply: please hit "reply" and provide your name, and state which shift(s) you are applying for, and tell us a little bit about your skills and experience. Tell us where you live (town or neighborhood - so we can be sure you can get to us easily and conveniently when you are needed). Please provide your cell phone number so I can call you for a interview/chat. We'd like to have in-person interviews and hire a new caregiver as soon as possible.

This is not a COVID-19 job. We have both tested negative and are asymptomatic. We expect caregivers to help us manage safe sanitary/contagion practices, including wearing a face mask, wearing exam gloves, and frequent hand-washing. We've been self-quarantined since mid-March, and have minimized errands. And we have been symptom-free and fever-free through-out. (Patient's care is managed by Inova Medical House Calls practice.)

Remember - to include your cell phone number and tell us approximately where you live - city or neighborhood.

Please let us hear from you quickly!

We need your help!

Thank you!
  • Principals only. Recruiters, please don't contact this job poster.
  • do NOT contact us with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 7169325495

posted:

updated:

best of [?]